I am backed up on posts, so this meal is from a few weeks ago, but I don’t think it’s too late to enjoy it, even though pumpkins have given way for candy canes, chocolates, and tons of delicious cookies. I made this right after Thanksgiving with a pumpkin that I’d had in my apartment as a decoration for the Fall. I felt bad throwing it out, and decided to honor it properly by cooking it up!

I had been saving a recipe that was sent to us by our CSA from way back in October. I was waiting specifically until I didn’t have need for a pumpkin anymore. So after Thanksgiving came to an end, I got right to work.

Roasted Pumpkin Curry
from Nibbledish.com

1/2 of  1 small pumpkin seeded, peeled, and cubed
1 can of coconut milk
1/2 cup vegetable stock
2 or 3 tablespoons of red curry paste
2 or 3 tablespoons of fish sauce
4 or 5 tablespoons sugar
1 red bell pepper, julienned
8 oz. firm tofu, diced into small cubes
1 cup of green peas (fresh or frozen)
1/2 cup of chopped carrots
1 cup of steamed jasmine rice

Preheat oven to 400F.

Cut pumpkin into two halves and roast, cut side down, for at least 1 hour.

Meanwhile, bring coconut milk, fish sauce, sugar, and curry paste to a boil. Reduce heat and add bell pepper, carrots, tofu, green peas, and roasted pumpkin. Simmer until bell pepper and carrots are soft. Serve with steamed jasmine rice.

This dish was so delish! I was really surprised how well the pumpkin worked with the curry. It was very spicy- great for a chili night. The chili paste and the coconut milk made it silky, spicy and sweet. The vegetables complimented it well and the rice made it thick enough to fill you up. I highly recommend this for veggie lovers and my vegan friends. If you don’t have access to a pumpkin (by now it is past Christmas and finding one is probably quite a challenge), you can probably use any type of winter squash. I’ll probably make this meal again before Winter comes to an end. I am pretty obsessed and have been singing it’s praises for over a month now!

