On November 13th we had our last CSA pickup of the summer season. It was a glorious one. We got some really great stuff, and I used the opportunity to stock up on some things that will most likely last us for the next few weeks, if not longer. They were all pretty affordable, so I walked out of there with some gems.

In our share we received:

Organic Garlic from Culton Organics. These 3 heads, along with the few that I already had stored up should last at least a month. I hope.

Spaghetti Squash, uh oh!

A beautiful bulb of fennel.

More brussel sprouts!

Beets and beet greens

And OH YEAH! Philadelphia Brewing Company’s Harvest from the Hood, with wet hops grown fresh at the farm. We’d been waiting for this all summer long!

We also scored some apples and awesome sharp cheddar cheese. I picked up a butternut and acorn squash, a ton more apples, and a whole bunch of sweet potatoes. I’ve used a lot of the produce so far, but I’m storing all of the squash for later in the season. The fennel made an awesome Carrot Fennel soup, the brussel sprouts were featured in an incredible ravioli, the beets into a beet green gratin, the sweet potatoes in a souffle for Thanksgiving that did not turn out as well as I would have liked, and the apples went into a delicious apple pie. I’m still using some of the produce and I can’t wait to use it over the next few weeks, especially when I’m in a bind. I still have some beets and most of the squash, along with some sweet potatoes. Hooray for seasonal food all the way into the Winter time!

