I’m pretty behind in my posting these days, but that’s mainly because I have been spending way too much time in the kitchen and cooking way more than I have time to keep up with. That being said, if I don’t share this CSA post now, I’ll be even farther behind. This CSA pickup is from two weeks ago, but I feel the need to share because it’s produce captured the autumn harvest season so well. It was also our second to last pick-up, and I’m sad to say that our last pickup was this past Saturday. Because our CSA days are numbered, I’ll post this now.

A beautiful bunch of carrots

Tomatoes and Peppers from Lancaster County

Daikon Radishes

Cheddar Cauliflower

Vampire Slayer Cheese!

Maple Pumpkin Peanut Butter from the Better Butter Company

We also got some beets, brussel sprouts (although they were from the bottom of the barrel, so not that great), Gala apples, and eggs. I’ve been pretty busy with my apples and the tomatoes. Most of the other produce from our share that week kept for pretty long and I am just now getting around to using the beets, carrots, and cauliflower. We used the brussel sprouts to make a terrible frittata. The carrots just went into a delicious carrot and red lentil soup, the tomatoes went into a pasta with tomato almond pesto, and I’m still trying to figure out what to do with the daikon radishes. The apples went into an awesome apple butter that went on pretty much everything I’ve been eating for the last two weeks, along with the Maple Pumpkin butter. And the cheese is just plain awesome and I want it to last forever.

Since the fall came around, I was a little nervous that the quality of our produce would drop, but I have to say that I’ve been so pleased with what we’ve received over the last few weeks. Check back for more seasonal meals!

