This fall I’ve found myself pretty obsessed with butternut squash. I don’t think I’m the only one who has this sentiment, but I can’t stop myself from picking one up every time we go to our CSA or I hit up a farmer’s market or farm stand. My goal this year though, is to find new and unique ways to cook with the squash, instead of just roasting it or putting it in soups. I’ve had some success with this so far, although I did use some squash in a delicious butternut squash and pear soup. My favorite recipe so far though, has been a butternut squash sauce recipe that I’ve been using on pasta for the past few weeks.

Butternut Squash Pasta Sauce
from Martha Stewart

1 medium butternut squash (about 1 1/2 pounds)
1 tablespoon olive oil
1/2 teaspoon dried rubbed sage
Coarse salt and ground pepper
5 cloves garlic, peel on
1 cup half-and-half
Pasta (such as cheese ravioli or any short pasta), for serving
Toppings, such as grated parmesan cheese, chopped toasted walnuts, finely chopped fresh sage

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Using a large, sharp knife, trim ends; halve squash crosswise to separate bulb from neck. Peel with a vegetable peeler. Cut both pieces in half lengthwise. With a spoon, scoop out seeds; discard.

Cut squash into 2-inch chunks; transfer to a small rimmed baking sheet. Toss with oil and sage; season generously with salt and pepper. Scatter garlic around squash. Roast until squash is very tender, about 40 minutes, tossing once halfway through. Remove and discard skin from garlic.

Transfer squash and garlic to a food processor; puree. With motor running, add half-and-half through the feed tube; process until smooth. Add 1 to 2 cups water; continue to process until smooth, adding water to thin if necessary. Season again generously with salt. (To freeze, see below.)

Cook pasta according to package instructions. Reserve 1 cup pasta water; drain pasta and return to pot. Pour sauce over pasta; toss to coat. Add some pasta water to thin sauce if necessary. Serve with desired toppings.

I made this recipe with ravioli the first time. I loved it because it was almost the same as making butternut squash ravioli with a squash filling, but it was much easier and less time-consuming. I don’t have a pasta maker, so making my own ravioli is out of the question at this point, but the sauce gave a taste that was just as good. It was fairly easy to make and there was a ton leftover. We had the sauce with another pasta dish the following week, and there is still some leftover. There is now some in the freezer for later on in the winter when I can’t access the squash as easily as I can now. I’m curious to try the sauce with something other than pasta, but I’m not sure how that would work. Post in the comments if you have any suggestions.

