If there’s one thing I’ve been obsessed with this Fall it’s apples. In the same way I fell in love with peaches this summer, for the first time in my life, I’ve seemed to really develop a liking for apples. Probably because most of the times I’ve been sinking my teeth into them, they’ve been right off the tree, as opposed to the grocery store display. I can’t get enough of Galas, MacIntosh, Honeycrips, and Jonagolds. I’ve been trying all different recipes, but was really excited to put these blushing red beauties into donut form. A few problems arose. One: I had no desire to fry up donuts, and preferred to bake them instead. Two: If I did find a recipe for baked donuts, it involved a donut pan, which I did not have.

After a while of searching, I was pretty excited to find a baked donut recipe that involved baking the donuts in a mini-muffin pan to make donut holes. I ended up having to purchase a pan, but I’ll definitely put it to use more often than I will a donut mold pan.

Oven Baked Apple Donuts
from Jennifer Bartoli, contributor to The Kitchn

1/4 cup lightly packed brown sugar
1/4 cup white sugar
1 1/2 cups bite-sized chunks of apple, peeled and cored
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 3/4 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1 teaspoon nutmeg
1/3 cup cold butter, cut into small pieces
1 egg
1/4 cup milk

To Coat:
1/4 cup butter, melted
1/3 cup sugar
1 teaspoon cinnamon powder

Preheat your oven to 350F. Whisk the flour, baking powder, sugars salt and and nutmeg in a bowl. Add the cold chopped butter. Rub the pieces of butter with the flour mixture until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs.

In a separate bowl, beat the egg. Mix in the milk and fold in the chopped apples. Add the egg mixture to the flour mixture. Stir using a spatula or spoon making sure not to overmix. Place a spoonful of batter into each mold of a buttered mini muffin pan.

Bake for 15-18 minutes or until the donuts are just golden. Remove from the oven, unmold and lightly brush each donut with the melted butter. Dunk in a bowl with the sugar and cinnamon mixed in. Shake off excess sugar and serve immediately.

 


These donuts were everything that I hoped they’d be. Filled with soft chunks of apples, dipped in butter, and coated with cinnamon and sugar. The mini muffin tin made them just the right size to pop in one or two for an afternoon snack or a quick dessert after dinner. I’ve found myself snacking on them after a long day at work, with a mug of hot apple cider. It was delightful! These also make a really great gift for friends, or would be great to bring along to a party of brunch. They’re fairly easy to make, so this won’t be the last time I’ll enjoy them.

