Lately our Saturday or Sunday mornings have become quite a nice breakfast tradition. I’ve been trying to take at least one day a weekend and make a substanial meal. Something other than cereal or eggs. Recently we gave the collards and potato frittata a try, so I decided to do something a little less savory.

Recently I discovered the website Joy the Baker. I know a lot of my cooking-friendly friends have been using it for ages, so I’m not sure why it took me so long to figure out how amazing it is. Recently I’ve been trying to make one baked good a week, and so it was good timing to stumble upon this really lovely blog. I’ve already bookmarked quite a few recipes, but one stood out from the others. A great recipe for chai pancakes. I enjoy pancakes just fine, but I especially enjoy them when there is something special about them. Particularly pumpkin pancakes, blueberry pancakes, chocolate chip pancakes, etc. I thought that a lovely Saturday morning in October would be a great time to give these Chai pancakes a try.

Chai Spiced Buttermilk Pancakes
from Joy the Baker

2 eggs
2 cups flour
3 tablespoons sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
3/4 teaspoon ground ginnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground cardamom
healthy pinch of ground cloves
scant 1/8 teaspoon ground ginger
1/8 teaspoon crushed black peppercorns (or a dash of freshly ground black pepper)
1 1/2 cups buttermilk
1/2 cup brewed black chai tea
4 tablespoons butter, melted and cooled
½ teaspoons vanilla extract
oil or cooking spray (for cooking)

In a large bowl beat eggs. Add buttermilk, chai tea, butter and vanilla and mix well. Add flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, spices and salt. Mix well until mostly smooth. Let batter set for a few minutes.

Heat griddle or pan over medium heat. Add a teaspoon of oil (I used grapeseed oil) to the pan or spray with cooking spray. You can test to see if the pan is hot enough by adding a few drops of water, when the drops start to dance its hot enough.

Pour 2 Tablespoons of batter onto the griddle. Cook on the first side until bubbles that form start to pop. You can also gently lift up the pancake to make sure the bottom is not overcooking, if it is the pan may be too hot and you will need to adjust the heat. Flip the pancake over with a spatula and cook until golden brown. Repeat until all the batter is gone. Let cooked pancakes rest on a heat proof plate in a 200 degree F oven until ready to serve.

These were perfect. The batter was a little different than anything I’ve worked with, but it made some awesome pancakes. I used to be pretty terrible at making pancakes (some of my readers can attest to that…), but recently I think I’ve mastered my technique. I’ve been having so much fun with them lately, and this recipe definitely contributed to how much fun they are to make. They were perfect with a little bit of maple syrup, but I got a little crazy and spread some blackberry jam (ahh, summer) on top. I had about 4 pancakes, and then had some more the next morning. Give these a try and impress yourself, and your friends!

