I know I said I wasn’t going to post about this recipe, but after having if over and over again I’ve become quite fond of it. I was really excited to receive some kale in our CSA share last week. It is really one of my favorite leafy greens and so nutritious! I have a few friends who have been talking about it a lot lately with their own recipes, so I was anxious to use it. We purchased some chorizo from our CSA that was made from a local source, and referenced a recipe that was included in our CSA newsletter. The results were not as pleasing as I had anticipated, but I was able to make a few changes to improve it after first taste.

Caldo Verde (Portuguese Kale and Chorizo Soup)
from Food and Wine

2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil, plus more for drizzling
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 large Spanish onion, chopped
6 ounces chorizo, sliced 1/4 inch thick
2 quarts water
1 pound Yukon Gold potatoes, peeled and cut into 1-inch chunks
Salt and freshly ground pepper
1 pound kale, stems discarded and leaves finely shredded

Heat the 2 tablespoons of olive oil in a large enameled cast-iron casserole. Add the garlic, onion and half of the chorizo and cook over low heat, stirring occasionally, until the onion softens, about 8 minutes. Add water, potatoes and a large pinch each of salt and pepper and bring to a boil. Simmer over low heat until the potatoes are tender, about 15 minutes. Using an immersion blender, process the soup to a coarse puree. Bring to a boil. Add the kale and simmer until it is wilted, about 3 minutes. Stir in the remaining half of the chorizo and simmer for 5 minutes. Season with salt and pepper and serve in bowls, drizzled with olive oil.

What I didn’t really realize about this recipe before I started cooking, was that most of the potato and chorizo were cooked, and then blended into a broth. More importantly, there really isn’t a lot of chorizo in this in the first place. I ended up reserving some of the potatoes and sausage before pureeing into broth, so that it would still be a bit chunky, but it really wasn’t enough. The broth came out pretty watery and flavorless. There was a little kick from the chorizo, which was nice, but it just wasn’t as hardy as I had imagined it would be. My other big mistake, was that I forgot to chop the kale before adding it. I discarded the stems, but just threw in the full leaves, which left it tough to chew and swallow. It was definitely not one of my best meals.

Unfortunately, this recipe made a ton of soup! A ton of bad soup, that is until I found the remedy. After eating it, I went back to the stove, cut up some more potatoes and added them to the pot. I turned the burner on and let the soup sit for about another hour, until the potatoes were tender. Then I ended up going into the soup and cutting up all of the kale so that it ended up in smaller pieces. Overall, it turned out pretty ok. I had it for lunch a few times this week and enjoyed it much more the second and third time around. Next time I go to make a potato, kale and chorizo soup, I’ll read over my recipes a little more thoroughly.

