Last weekend was our CSA pickup and it was probably one of my favorites so far this year. The weather was lovely and autumny. The place was packed and the produce was poppin’. We had a great selection of produce, and picked up some extra treats, too. I’ll be making fall-themed meals for the next few weeks!

Swiss Chard

Kale

Carrots

Apples and Pears

We picked up these apples and pears as an extra treat from Three Springs Fruit Farm in Wenksville, PA. In our share, in addition to the kale, chard, and carrots, we received some butternut squash, red and yellow onions, peach bread that was made from the Greensgrow  Co-Op, and apple cider, also from Three Springs, and grabbed some tofu and eggs. We also purchased some beautiful gourds and a giant eggplant. Looks like I’ll be cookin’ up a storm the next few weeks.

I already used the kale to make a potato, chorizo, and kale soup- which was just ok and not very photogenic so I won’t be posting it. The carrots went into an awesome Shepherd’s Pie dish with some leeks leftover from our last share. We only have two CSA pick-ups left, and I’m not yet sure what I’ll do when this is all done and over with! I don’t want to think about it quite yet.

