YES! Autumn is finally here! Apples, pears, butternut squash, cauliflower. All things that are hot and happenin’ in the farmers markets right now. Our CSA, Greensgrow Farms had a Fall Kickoff party last week on our pick-up day. There were tons of free samples, home made chili, fresh pressed apple cider, perogies, and live animals. Not to mention that Everyday with Rachel Ray Magazine was there doing cooking demonstrations and handing out samples of Pumpkin Milkshakes! It was the perfect day, great weather, big clouds in the sky, and lots of fresh food everywhere you looked. We also brought home quite a harvest.

Baby cows. We did not take these home, although I wish we could.

Turnips

Cauliflower

Leeks

Bosque Pears

White Eggplant

 

We also got some collard greens, which I’m a little nervous about since I’ve never cooked with them before. Also some apples, eggs, and jalapeno cheddar cheese. I’ve been able to incorporate most of the produce into a week’s worth of meals including stir-fried cauliflower, eggplant pasta, and root vegetable tangine. Look out for the collars and leeks next week. Can’t wait for more Fall veggies. I’m hoping we can take home some pumpkins soon, I’d love to make my own pumpkin puree.

