Last week I was watching the Rachel Ray show. I am going to spare everyone my thoughts on Rachel Ray because I’ve been over it a few times already. So what, it’s a guilty pleasure. Anyway, for her first show of the new season she made five quick meals with five ingredients or less. Most of them were so-so, but one totally caught my ear. It originally called for potatoes and Kielbasa, but I was really into trying it my way. It’s basically an awesome math equation: Apples + Potatoes + Sausage= Dinnner.

Roast Sausage Supper
Adapted from Rachel Ray

2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
2 lbs. sweet potatoes, chopped into large chunks
4 large onions, quartered
2lbs. turkey sausage or sweet Italian sausage, cut into 2-inch pieces
4 Gala or Honeycrisp apples, cut into wedges
honey, for garnish
salt and pepper, to taste

Preheat oven to 425F.

In a large, shallow roasting pan, drizzle potatoes and onions with olive oil , season with salt and pepper. Roast for 40 minutes.

Drizzle apples with honey, olive oil, salt and pepper. Add apples and sausage to potatoes and onions. Roast for an additional 20 minutes.

To serve, arrange apples, potatoes, sausage and onions on dinner plates and garnish with pan juices.

 


Whoa! I was totally blown away by how awesome this was. I definitely expected it to be good, but I was really surprised incredible all of these flavors complimented each other. The apples were soft and so juicy. The sausage tasted great with the apple juices and the sweet potatoes were out of this world. Although it took a long time to cook in the oven, it took minutes to throw together and was delicious for days on end. It tasted like deconstructed Thanksgiving. I will be making this all throughout the winter. As Rachel says “Yum-O!”

