For the past couple of weeks I’ve found myself with more free time than I knew what to do with. I decided that this would be a great opportunity to spend some time in the kitchen. I’ve been waiting all summer for the temperature to cool down enough so that turning on the oven would be a comfort, rather than an inconvenience- and it’s finally gotten to that point.

Aside from doing a lot more cooking and baking, I’ve also spent a lot of my extra time looking up seasonal recipes. I’m anticipating that the Fall months will bring some interesting produce to our CSA and I want to make sure that I have enough recipes stocked up to deal with all of the various squashes, greens, brussel sprouts and cauliflower. I am also just really excited about making all things that have to do with apple and pumpkin, so I’ve got a whole bunch saved.

In the midst of recipe searching, I found a great recipe from a website that I stumbled upon called NaturallyElla. I really enjoy the way the site is set up and the recipes that the blogger includes, most of which I believe are original recipes. She usually uses whole wheat flour, all natural ingredients, and focuses a lot on vegan meals.  She recently posted a great recipe for Cinnamon quick bread, and I knew I had to give it a whirl- literally.

Cinnamon Quick Bread
Adapted from Naturally Ella

1 cup wheat flour
1 1/2 cups unbleached all purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup natural sugar
1/2 cup butter melted
2 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
3/4 cup plain greek yogurt
3/4 cup milk

for the filling:
1/4 cup brown sugar
2 tablespoons cinnamon

Pre-heat oven to 350˚F.

In a large bowl, combine the first six ingredients (the dry ones) and stir to combine.  Add in remaining wet ingredients and stir until mixture is well combine.  Quick breaks are not very finicky; however, if you want, combine wet ingredients in a separate bowl before pouring into dry.

In a buttered 9×5 pan, spread 1/3 of the mixture of the bottom; sprinkle half the sucanat and cinnamon.  Repeat with 1/3 more of the batter and the last of the sucanat/cinnamon.  Finish with batter.  You can opt to put a crumb on top (butter cut into flour and sugar) but I chose to leave it off.

Bake for 55-60 minutes until a knife comes out clean when inserted into the bread.

 

The recipe was really simple. You don’t have to use whole wheat flour, but I always say, why not? In fact sometimes I’ll substitute it in for all-purpose flour. At first I thought that the two tablespoons of cinnamon wouldn’t be enough, but it really came out great. It was a beautiful bread, and I was pleased to see that it looked pretty similar to the photos on the original blog. My only complaint is that it was a bit dry. I would suggest using more milk and less yogurt, or adding a bit of oil in place of the yogurt- although it’s not as healthy. I had to add a bit more milk to the batter just while I was mixing it together, and it still was pretty dry. No worries though, stuck in the oven for a few minutes, this bread makes really great toast! It’s also great with jelly, could be used for a delicious French toast, and is very delicious on its own. Unfortunately, we couldn’t eat it fast enough and it started to mold before we could finish it. I think I’ll try this again sometime soon though, and use it up as soon as possible to get the full benefit.

 

