Fig season is upon us and boy am I excited. I don’t know what it is about figs, maybe I ate too many Newton’s as a kid, but I am really obsessed with them. I enjoy dried figs just fine, but it is a real victory to get your hands on fresh figs, as they are pretty hard to find and their season is unbearably short. They are also expensive. Last season I picked some up at The Fair Food Stand in Reading Terminal Market for 6 for $5.00. This year I was particularly lucky though. Green Aisle Grocery, which is a boutique grocery in my neighborhood was selling them at a reduced rate for $2.00/6. They were very ripe and needed to be used quickly, so I grabbed a dozen, ran home, and whipped up some figgy ideas. Of course the first thing I did was make my Harvest Muffins from the previous post. But the figs stole the show with an awesome pizza that I’ve been wanting to make for months.

This recipe was adapted from Bon Appetit‘s August Issue and suggests grilling the pizza. After a slight mishap with our roofdeck and a warning from our landlord to stop using our charcoal grill on the roof, we opted for the oven instead. I used a pizza dough recipe from Annie’s Eats and adapted the recipe slightly to suit what we had. Read on!

Fig and Prosciutto Pizza with Arugula and Goat Cheese
Adapted from Bon Appetit

1 pound pizza dough, purchased or home made
1 cup coarsely grated Parmesan cheese
Fresh arugula
1/4 pound thinly sliced Prosciutto
6 fresh figs, quartered
2 thin red onion slices, rings separated1 cup crumbled soft fresh goat cheese

Preheat oven to 500F. Insert pizza stone, if using.

Halve dough; roll into 10-inch rounds. Brush tops with olive oil. Sprinkle with Parmesan cheese.

Add a thin layer of arugula to pizza. Top with slices of Prosciuto, figs, and onions. Cook in heated oven for approximately 7-8 minutes. Remove, add a small handful more of arugula and top with sprinkled goat cheese.  Return to oven for about 1 minute or until goat cheese is softened.

If I could eat this pizza every day I would. The original called for sausage, which we did have. But we also had some Prosciutto and I love love love the combination of the savory, thinly-sliced meat with the sweetness of the plump, juicy figs. I was so glad that I made the substitute, but I’m sure that this would taste awesome with sausage as well. This pizza basically consisted of all of my favorite foods: figs, prosciutto, greens, and of course goat cheese! The pizza dough came out great and was nice and thin. Really this dish was one of my favorite yet! If you are into pizza and trying new and interesting toppings- this one is totally worth giving a whirl.

