Today marks a pretty important day in my family. I just want to take a minute to wish my DAD a very happy birthday! Unfortunately I can’t be at home in Connecticut this weekend to celebrate with him, but I was able to spend a few days back at home last weekend and we got to celebrate a bit early.

For his gift this year, I selected a bottle of Art In The Age of Mechanical Reproduction’s SNAP. It’s a liquor that tastes like a Ginger Snap. I’ve actually never had it, but I’m a huge fan of Art In the Age’s ROOT, which I received as a birthday gift this year. I decided to spread the Philly love, as only Philadelphians know how, and share this awesome new trend with my dad at home in Connecticut. I figured that with the holiday season swiftly approaching, it would be a great time to try out some new cocktail recipes to show off at Thanksgiving and Christmas dinners.

Of course, to compliment the drink, I had to find the perfect baked good to go along with the gift. This was not hard. Duh, gingersnaps! And perfect timing, too. The weather at home was crisp, clear, and cool. Perfect weather to relax with a cocktail and some gingersnaps.

Gingersnap Cookies
from All Recipes

1 cup packed brown sugar
3/4 cup vegetable oil
1/4 cup molasses
1 egg
2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground ginger
1/3 cup white sugar for decoration

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.

In a large bowl, mix together the brown sugar, oil, molasses, and egg. Combine the flour, baking soda, salt, cloves, cinnamon, and ginger; stir into the molasses mixture. Roll dough into 1 1/4 inch balls. Roll each ball in white sugar before placing 2 inches apart on ungreased cookie sheets.

Bake for 10 to 12 minutes in preheated oven, or until center is firm. Cool on wire racks.


These came out perfectly, except that I may have over-baked them for one minute too long. Aim around 10 minutes, as opposed to 12. But don’t they look awesome? I love the cracked effect  and the sugar-coated texture. They are just bursting with flavor. They were pretty soft and chewy after just coming out of the oven, but hardened up quickly and would taste so good with a glass of milk or some hot tea… or a SNAP cocktail! This is a really fast recipe and is great for any chilly Fall afternoon and makes a great gift for friends. Enjoy!

