This past weekend brought a ton of rain. It was terribly necessary. Most of my plants and vegetables on my roof were seriously struggling, and even our CSA had to cut back a bit because of the intense heat, leaving us with less vegetables than we had originally expected.

So when the rain came, it was great. Except for the fact that it kept us cooped up inside for a whole day. The best way to spend a rainy day inside (especially when it means a break in the heat), is to cook. And bake. And cook more. And then maybe bake more. So I did.

I started our Saturday morning off with an incredible breakfast that revolved all around rhubarb. I had bought about a pound of rhubarb a few weeks ago from the Amish farm stand in Reading Terminal. I wasn’t sure what I was going to do with it but I couldn’t pass it by. On Saturday it was still sitting in my fridge, and  I knew it was coming to the end of rhubarb season. I found a great recipe in one of my cookbooks and got to work.

Rhubarb Waffles with Rhubarb Sauce
From Eating Well In Season

Rhubarb Sauce

1 and 1/4 pounds rhubarb, trimmed and cut into 1/4-inch pieces (5 cups)
1 and 1/2 cups sugar

Waffles (I made pancakes, for lack of waffle maker)

3 large egg whites
1 and 1/4 cups nonfat milk
1 and 1/2 tablespoons canola oil
1 and 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/4 cup whole wheat flour
3 tablespoons sugar
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt

To prepare the sauce: Combine rhubarb and 1 and 1/2 cups sugar in a medium sauce pan and bring to a simmer over medium-low heat. Cook until the rhubarb is tender and translucent. Transfer about 1 cup of the rhubarb to a small bowl with a slotted spoon, and reserve for the waffle batter. Boil the remaining rhubarb in syrup over medium heat, stirring occasionally, until slightly thickened, about 5 minutes.

To prepare the waffles: Whisk egg whites in a large bowl until frothy. Whisk in milk and oil. Stir in the reserved 1 cup cooked rhubarb. Sift all-purpose flour, whole wheat flour, 3 tablespoons sugar, baking powder and salt into a medium bowl. Gently stir the dry ingredients into the egg milk mixture until just moistened.

Preheat a waffle iron to medium high, (If your waffle iron is non stick, brush it lightly with oil.) Fill the iron about two-thirds full. Close and cook the waffles until they are nicely browned, about 4 minutes. Repeat the remaining batter, coating the waffle iron lightly with oil, if necessary, before cooking each batch. Serve hot, topped with the rhubarb sauce.

I used this recipe to make pancakes and it worked out well. I was really careful not to over mix, because I’ve made a lot of mistakes with pancakes in the past. The batter was very chunky but the cakes came out light and fluffy. Mmm this meal reminded me of something that would be served at a bed and breakfast. It was rich and delicious, and very rustic. There was enough rhubarb sauce left over to be used as a jam for the next few days on toast or mixed in with yogurt.

I made some home-made whipped cream to top it all off. I combined one cup of heavy whipping cream with 1/4 cup of  confectioners sugar. It took quite a while to whip up in the KitchenAid, but was so worth it and was a wonderful addition to our rhubarb sauce.

Stu cooked up two eggs from our CSA and topped them off with some cheddar that we brought home that morning from our rainy CSA share (more on this next post.) It was a lot of food. A lot of delicious food.  Sadly rhubarb season is nearly over, so I’ll have to wait until next Spring to try this again. It will probably be my first rhubarb meal of the year!

