Strawberries are one of my all-time favorite fruits and when they’re in season there is absolutely no reason why you shouldn’t be eating them nonstop. When we got them in our CSA for the second share in a row, I was pumped.

Although my favorite thing to do with fresh strawberries is to cut them up into teeny pieces and eat them with my cereal each morning, I was eager to try out something I had read on MarkBittman.com a few weeks back. There was a small post from one of Bittman’s contributors, Ed Schneider about making strawberry preserves but without the canning. You can see the article here.

I cut up some strawberries, although I didn’t have too many after a few breakfasts. After halving them, tossing them in sugar, and squeezing them with a bit of lemon juice, I brought them to a simmer for a little over an hour, until the juice was slightly reduced.

After tasting the berry-sauce, I decided it was too good to just let it sit until I decided how to use it. I looked up a recipe for biscuits in How To Cook Everything, and got to baking.

Yogurt or Buttermilk Biscuits
from How To Cook Everything by Mark Bittman

2 cups all-purpose or cake flour, plus more as needed
1 scant teaspoon salt
3 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 to 5 tablespoons cold butter
3/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons yogurt or buttermilk

Heat the oven to 450F. Mix the dry ingredients together in a bowl or food processor. Cut the butter into bits and either pulse it in the food processor (the easiest) or, if you’re using a bowl, pick up a bit of the dry ingredients and rub them with the butter between your fingers and drop them again. All the butter should be thoroughly blended into the flour mixture before you proceed.

Pulse a couple of times or use a large spoon to stir in the yogurt, just until the mixture forms a bal. Turn the dough out onto a lightly floured surface and knead it 10 times, no more. If it is very sticky, add a little flour, but very little; it should still stick slightly to your hands.

Press the dough into a 3/4 inch-thick-rectangle and cut into 2-inch rounds with a biscuit cutter or a glass. Put the rounds on an un-greased baking sheet. Gently reshape the leftover dough and cut again. Bake for 7 to 9 minutes, or until the biscuits are a beautiful golden brown. Serve within 15 minutes for them to be at their best.

Shortly after the biscuits came out of the oven, I whipped up a ricotta cream for the topping. I mixed a few spoonfuls of ricotta with light cream, and drizzled a little bit of honey into the mixture. Stirred it all up, topped the biscuits with the cream and then drizzled the top with the strawberry sauce. So warm, fresh, and sweet. The perfect afternoon snack for a hot, humid, mid-June afternoon.

