When the weather is right, it’s time to get outside and enjoy it. Living in Philadelphia, that mostly means to get outside and eat! And that’s just what I did this past weekend. I ate, and ate, and ate. But at least I enjoyed every bit of it.

Thursday

Stu and I headed out to Fishtown to check out the new Kraftwork, located at Girard and Montgomery Aves. Shoutout to our waitress Christine! The best waitress ever. A few friends met up and I stuffed myself silly with the Beer Can Chicken Sandwich and a load of Port Brewing Company’s Wipeout IPA (at 7.0% ABV, slowly becoming my favorite.) Friday was a fun day at work.

Friday

Met up with Stu on my lunchbreak for dog’s and an ice cream float at Texas Weiner on 15th and Snyder. Family owned and operated since 1923, this place does a dog right. I grabbed a Rock N’ Rabe: a hot sausage grilled and topped with broccoli rabe and provolone. Awesome!

Friday night my college roomie came to visit and we headed toward the Graduate Hospital neighborhood to hit up Grace Tavern. I’d heard about the spot for a while and had been wanting to check it out, and it suited our price range for the night, with nothing on the menu topping $10.00. I tried the South Street Burger with carmelized onions, bleu cheese, house-made mayo all on a Le Bus Brioche bun. Scarfed it! Finished off the night with $2 PBR’s at The Dive on Passyunk.

Saturday

Woke up early and hit up Carman’s Country Kitchen at 11th and Wharton. Had an omlette with Cod, yellow potatoes, green garlic, goat cheese, and celery. Salty and amazzzing. Headed directly over to the Italian Market Fesitval where I was over-stimulated by food. Couldn’t decide on what to get, and still kind of full from breakfast, so hit up Cantina Los Caballitos on Passyunk with Stu and his parents for some margaritas and light fair.

Sunday

Straight the HeadHouse Square Farmer’s Market I went.  Its early in the spring season, so it’s mostly seedlings, greens, and root vegetables.

Greens, Greens, and more Greens

I grabbed some radishes from Weaver’s Way Co-Op, some Jersey asparagus and zucchinis, a bunch of basil, and 2 lbs. of snow peas, which were early in their season from Culton Organics.

All of the farmer's market loot

Check back this week for specific recipes centering around all of these wonderful spring veggies.

After the farmer’s market I made my way back to the Italian Market festival for some lemon-cello, pork sandwiches, and of course, cannolis!  It was crazy out there:

Droves of People for the Italian Festival

I ate the pork right outta that pig. Don't judge me!

So what does one do after a food-filled weekend like this? The natural thing, of course, is to make grilled pizza! More updates on that later this week. Happy Eating Folks!

