Faithful blog-followers, allow me to introduce you to a new edition to my blog. As some of you know, my boyfriend Stuart and I began co-habitating a few months ago. Up until then I was always in charge of my own meals, and I took pride in mapping out a week of meal plans, ingredients, and grocery lists. But now that I am sharing this meal plan with someone other than myself, I’ve got to occasionally accommodate for Stu.

Every once in a while, Stu takes control of dinner. Not one for following recipes, he prefers to throw together his favorite ingredients to make some type of concoction, usually involving meat, pepper, and hot sauce, or a combination of the three. When Stu takes charge, I will share the results of his meal here.

This past Wednesday we didn’t have much food in the house, but some frozen chicken and some soft corn tacos. Stu got to work. He defrosted the chicken by putting the freezer bag into a saucepan of boiling water. After the chicken was softened, he cut it up and put it into a pan with left over home made salsa and some hot sauce. Eventually the chicken was soft enough to become shredded.

shredded chicken

After heating up some of the soft tacos in a small pan,and chopping up some raw onions, jalepenos, cilantro, and radishes. We were ready to go.

sides

The finish product was delicious and fresh. It is similar to the amazing tacos that we get from our favorite taqueira up the steet from our apartment, El Jarocho. As much as we love Jarocho (Jarocha as we call it), sometimes its easy and convenient to make a similar dish at home. Nothing beats these baby’s!

Perfection.

