Mother’s Day was this past weekend and I was destined to come up with a sweet treat for Stu’s mom. Her main gift was a straw beach bag, and I wanted to stash a snack inside that was portable and not too messy. I’ve made many a muffin, quick bread, and cupcakes lately, so I wanted to try something new.

I thought about whoopie pies, but Stu reminded me that his mom is not too big on extra-sweet stuff. He did tell me that she loves a good chocolate covered pretzel. This is also something that I also love and have not yet tackled in the kitchen. I ran out to the grocery store, grabbed some milk, chocolate morsels, and a huge bag of extra dark and crunchy pretzels and got to work.

It’s an incredibly easy snack to make and though this time I stuck to just plain milk chocolate, I’m interested in experimenting with dark and white as well as different type of pretzels.

The steps are simple:

Bring a small sauce pan of water to boil.  Place a small heat-proof bowl on top of the boiling water. Pour in chocolate and carefully monitor, stirring often, to make sure that the chocolate melts, but does not burn. Keep the burner on once the water comes to a boil, but decrease heat so as to keep the chocolate in a liquidy-state, but not too hot. Carefully dip the pretzels into the chocolate (this is a very messy process, beware!) and then place on a wax-paper lined baking tray. Once the pretzels are complete, place in the refriderator to cool for a few hours, or overnight.

Chocolate Covered Pretzels

We decorated our pretzels with silvery sprinke balls, called Dragees, but any type of topping will do. You can also combine different flavors of chocolate and do a drizzle, half dip, or half and half dip.

These pretzels were a huge hit, I can’t wait to make more of them.

