I bring my lunch to work every day. I find that this cuts down on the money that I spend each week, as well as the processed food that I consume each day. The restaurants and food establishments surrounding my work consist of mostly McDonald’s, Dunkin Donuts, PopEye’s and various pizza places.  Instead of chowing down on fast food, I opt to bring in left overs from the meals I’ve cooked during the week. And when I’m fixing for something sweet to go along with my morning coffee, I’ll find something to bake that will usually last me the whole week. If I can’t finish the baked goods off myself, I’ll pawn them off on my co-workers.

Last week I was looking for something sweet, but easy to make. I also was trying to scrimp on my grocery bill, so I wanted to utilize what I had in the house.  I fished through some of my cookbooks and stumbled upon a very simple cookie recipe from The Martha Stewart Living Cookbook: The Original Classics. I had everything on hand already, so I decided to give it a whirl.

Lemon-Ginger Drop Cookies
from Martha Stewart

8 tablespoons (1 stick) unsalted butter
3/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons sugar, plus more for sprinkling
1 large egg
1 tablespoon grated lemon zest
1 1/3 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
1/3 cup finely chopped crystalized ginger

Preheat the oven to 350F with two racks centered. Line two baking sheets with parchment; st aside. In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted withe the paddle attachment, cream the butter and sugar on medium-high speed until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes, scraping down the dies of the bowl twice. Add the egg; mix on high speed to combine. Add the zest; mix to combine. 

In a bowl, whisk together the flour, ground ginger, baking soda, salt, and crystallized ginger; add to the butter  mixture; mix on medium-low speed to combine, about 20 seconds.

Using two spoons, drop about 2 teaspoons of the batter on the prepared baking sheet; repeat, spacing them 3 inches apart. Bake for 7 minutes. Sprinkle the cookies with sugar, rotate the sheets between the oven racks, and bake until just golden brown, about 7 minutes more. Slide the parchment with the cookies on it onto a wire rack, let cool 15 minutes.

Lemon-Ginger Drop Cookies

I’m not entirely sure how these were supposed to turn out, but they ended up as very flavorful sugar cookies. I’ll have to warn you though, do not buy your crystallized ginger from your supermarket. Try and get to a specialty spice shop, where it is much more affordable than the 10 bucks they charge from the McCormick specialty spice section. Plus you’ll get a lot more for your money. I purchased a small bag of ginger from a spice shop in the Italian Market a few weeks ago, and for a mere $4.00 I still have plenty to spare after two separate recipes.

The cookies were just the right amount of chewy and crunchy, and went really well with tea, and even coffee. They stayed fresh for about a week, which is as long as they lasted. And they were a great crowd pleaser. They are delicious to enjoy on your own at home, or a wonderful idea to bring to a party or as a hostess gift. I will definitely make them again!

