Last weekend I had some spare time on Sunday morning and I hadn’t done any baking in a while.  I found a great recipe on The Kitchn in early January, and I saved it until I felt I would have the chance to use it.

I know Fall is over and Thanksgiving is past, but I don’t think there should be any problem with eating pumpkin baked goods in January. Plus I had a huge 28 oz. can of pumpkin puree in my cabinet and I didn’t know what else to do with it.  So pumpkin muffins it was!

The recipe is originally from The Fresh Loaf, but it was featured on The Kitchn and it was too good to resist. The addition of chocolate chips gave it a bit of a sweetness that totally beat the regular old pumpkin bread I was dishing out in  October and November.

Pumpkin Bread
1 3/4 cup (1 15 oz. can) pureed pumpkin
1 1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened
3 eggs
3-4 cups all-purpose unbleached flour
2 tablespoons baking powder
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
2 cups chopped walnuts or chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350F.

Combine the pumpkin, brown sugar, butter, and eggs and mix until creamy. In a separate bowl, combine all of the dry ingredients except the nuts or chocolate chips. Mix 3 cups of the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients, then add as much of the 4th cup as necessary to achieve the proper consistency (moist, but thick enough to stand a spoon in). Add the nuts or chocolate chips and stir in.

Pour or spoon the batter into greased muffin tins or bread pans. Bake on the center rack until a toothpick poked into the center comes out dry. At sea level, muffins should take between 20 and 25 minutes to bake, small loaves between 25 and 30 minutes, and full sized loaves between 50 minutes and 1 hour.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

These were everything I thought they would be and more! I used the KitchenAid and even though I have always been weary of electric mixers- I am officially converted! I can walk around the kitchen while my ingredients are mixing and I don’t have to worry about my arm cramping up while I am vigorously mixing!
The muffins came out exactly like the picture. They lasted long enough for a few morning snacks, and then I shared them with my co-workers until they were gone.
