Upon returning back to Philly after the Christmas break, I’ve found myself even more into brunch than normal. I think this was mainly sparked by the opening of Green Eggs Cafe, a neighborhood breakfast joint that opened up across the street from our apartment. We’ve been a handful of times since it opened the week of the New Year.

But when we’re not dining out on a Saturday morning, I like to stay in and experiment with my own breakfast meals. This usually involves some sort of Mexi-omelette, breakfast burrito, or scrambled eggs. But this weekend I was looking for something a little more specific.

I turned to my Martha Stewart Living Cookbook and found a recipe for hash browns. It was a Spring Vegetable Hash mix, and I didn’t have alot of the vegetables on hand, so I altered it a bit.

Spring Vegetable Hash
by Martha Stewart

1 1/4 pounds small red potatoes
4 carrots
2 teaspoons unsalted butter
2 1/2 teaspoons olive oil
1 large onion, chopped medium
3 red bell peppers, cut into 1/2 inch cubes
1 tablspoon fresh thyme leaves, or 1 teaspoon dried
1 tablespoon fresh chopped rosemary or 1 teaspoon dried and crumbled
8 ounces of asparagus
1 cup Homemade Chicken Stock (sorry Martha), or low-sodium store-bought chicken broth (this is more my pace, for now.)
kosher salt and freshly ground pepper

Fill a medium saucepan with cold water, and add the potatoes. Bring to a boil, reduce heat, and simmer for 5 minutes. Add the carrots, and continue cooking for 10 minutes more, or until the vegetables are just tender when pierced with the tip of a knife. Remove from heat, drain, and set aside until cook enough to handle. Cut the potatoes and carrots into 1/2- inch cubes.

Heat the butter and oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium heat. Add the onion and cook until transparent and golden at edges, about 10 minutes, or until soft. Add half the thyme and rosemary. Add the potatoes and carrots, and mix well. Cook over medium heat, stirring only occasionally, until a golden crust forms ont he potatoes, about 15 minutes.

Cutt off the asparagus tips, and cut the remaining tender parts into 1/2 inch lengths, discarding the woody ends. Add the tips and pieces, remaining thyme and rosemary, and stock to the skillet; cook 2 minutes more until the stock reduces and thickens slightly and the asparagus is tender. Season with salt and pepper, serve hot.

Vegetable Hash with Eggs Over Easy

I didn’t have any asparagus on hand, and Stu asked to please leave the carrots out of his breakfast. But I did have a bunch of different colored bell peppers and some button mushrooms that needed to be used quickly. I chopped up a red, green, AND yellow bell pepper and sautéed them along with the onion. I threw in some mushrooms at the same point I would have added the asparagus. The whole thing was hearty and delicious. Topped it off with some over easy eggs and a bit of Siriacha sauce and it was just what I needed to get the weekend going.

