This past Sunday was the first in a long time that I was able to laze about the apartment. I drank my coffee, had some oatmeal for breakfast, and watched a food-studded episode of Sunday Morning on CBS. Yay!

After an hour or so, I decided to be productive. I recently received a copy of The JVC Casa Iggy Cookbook back from when I was volunteering California. One of my roommates shipped it to my from Washington, as I never actually received my original copy. Within its wonderfully photo-copied pages are tons of recipes compiled by each of the roommates whom I shared a house with.

I stumbled upon a recipe for scones that my very kitchen-friendly roommate Katie used to make on Saturday mornings. With a lot of entertainment opportunities coming up, and the idea of home-made Christmas gifts in mind, I thought Sunday would be the perfect opportunity to give them a try.

Katie’s Scones

2 and 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2 tablespoons sugar
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/4 tablespoon salt
1/3 cup butter
2 eggs, beaten
3/4 cup whipping cream
1/2 dried currants or snipped raisins (I used cranberries)
whipping cream or milk
sugar

Preheat oven to 400F. In a large bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking powder and salt. Using a pastry blender, cut in butter until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Make a well in the center of the flour mixture, then set aside.

In a medium bowl, combine eggs, 1/4 cup of whipping cream, and currants. Add the egg mixture all at once to the flour mixture. Using a fork, stir until just moistened.

Turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface. Knead dough by folding and gently pressing it for 10-12 strokes or until dough is nearly smooth. Divide the dough in half. Pat or lightly roll each dough half into a 6-inch circle. Cut each circle into 6 or 8 wedges.

Place the dough wedges 2 inches apart on an ungreased baking sheet. Brush wedges with whipping cream and sprinkle with additional sugar. Bake for 12-14 minutes or until golden. Remove scones from baking sheet; serve warm or room temperature.

Cranberry Scones

Now, here comes the dilemma at hand. In the ingredients, it calls for 3/4 cup of whipping cream. (I accidentally used heavy cream, which can also be part of the cause of the problem.) In the recipe instructions, it refers to “the 1/4 cup whipping cream,” when combining wet ingredients.

As I was reading the instructions, I of course added 1/4 cup of heavy cream, omitting the other 1/2 cup. My scones came out a little dry, but then again, aren’t scones supposed to be dry? I really can’t tell what exactly went wrong and whether I was supposed to add 1/4 or 3/4 cups. After looking at various scone recipes on AllRecipes.com, most of the ingredients list 3/4 cup, 2/3 cup, or 1 cup of milk, half and half, or some variation. It seems as if I did add a little less milk than I should have.

However, after various taste-testers sampled the results, it was agreed that they were fine, and not too dry. Personally, I couldn’t eat a bite without dipping it in tea, coffee, or cocoa, but maybe it’s because I was so aware of my error.

I will definitely have to try this again, following the 3/4 cup that the ingredients list, or maybe following a different recipe all together. I actually stumbled upon a great one here, while referencing All Recipes. My scones are not quite up to gift-giving par at this point though.

