This past Wednesday I had Veteran’s Day off from work, which was probably the best thing I could possibly ask for. The holiday season is upon us, and things are going to start getting crazy, so now is the time to relax before life gets hectic.

The weather was chilly and rainy, so I spent most of the day lazying about, but I made sure I took a little time to do some baking. With Thanksgiving approaching, I am starting to plan out recipes for the big turkey dinner, as well as a potluck meal my girlfriends and I are having over the weekend. I wanted to test out a recipe for Honey Cornbread Muffins I found in Real Simple.

Honey Cornbread Muffins

4 tablespoons unsalted butter (1/2 stick), melted, plus more for the pan
1  and 1/4 cups all-purpose flour, spooned and leveled
3/4 cup cornmeal
1 and 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
2 large eggs
1 cup buttermilk
1/3 cup honey

Heat oven to 375° F. Butter a 12-cup muffin tin.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, cornmeal, baking powder, salt, and baking soda.

In a large bowl, whisk together the eggs, buttermilk, honey, and melted butter. Add the flour mixture and stir to combine.

Divide the batter among muffin cups and bake until golden brown and a toothpick inserted into the center of a muffin comes out clean, 30 to 35 minutes.

cornbread muffins

Honey Cornbread Muffins from Real Simple Magazine

 

They were yummy, warm, and moist as they came out of the oven. After a day or two though, they dried out a bit. Butter or some kind of jelly or spread would definitely help. But they are a great way to get ready for Thanksgiving and even to enjoy on a rainy afternoon. I will definitely be featuring them in the Thanksgiving meal.

