Here is an easy and delicious pasta meal that packs much more than red sauce or creamy cheese. Featured in the November issue of Real Simple, of course I had to try it.

 

Pasta with Brie, Mushrooms, and Arugala

12 oz. of penne pasta (3/4 box)
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 pound button mushrooms, quartered
1 small red onion, sliced
1/2 cup dry white wine
Kosher salt and pepper
8 oz. brie cheese, cut into 1-inch pieces
4 cups baby arugala

Cook the pasta according to the package directions. Reserve 1/2 cup of the pasta water, drain, and return to the pot.

Meanwhile, heat teh oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add the mushrooms and onion and cook, tossing until the mushrooms begin to release their juices, 2-3 minutes. Add the wine, 1/2 teaspoon salt, and 1/4 teaspoon pepper and cook until the mushrooms begin to brown, 5-6 minutes.

Toss the pasta with the brie and reserved water until coated. Stir in the mushrooms and Arugala.

november 009

Pasta with Brie, Mushrooms, and Arugala

This was great and easy to make. I had some arugala on hand already, and I used mini penne pasta, which I think was a better alternative.  I also only added 5 0z. of brie because it was what I already had. I also felt better because I cut out a teeny bit of fat content from the cheese.  Overall, a yummy and very different meal. Would make a great date-night dinner, especially for vegetarians!

