Please note that pictures will not be featured in the next few posts, as my computer is currently out of service and I am updating from my work computer. Don’t tell my boss.

So I totally skipped out on mentioning how fantastic the October issue of Real Simple magazine is. (It’s the main source of most of my recipes lately, if you haven’t noticed.) That’s because they featured a month’s worth of simple and delicious meals. Five meals a week for four weeks with meat, fish, pasta, and vegetarian options. I didn’t use all of them, but a few made it into my own weeknight dinners. My favorite one was actually featured on the cover and featured a unique and seasonal combination of food.

Ravioli With Apples and Walnuts

1 pound cheese ravioli (fresh or frozen)
2 tablespoons olive oil
1/2 cup walnuts, roughly chopped
1 crisp apple (such as Braeburn or Gala), cut into matchsticks
1/2 cup fresh flat-leaf parsley, chopped
kosher salt and black pepper
1/4 cup grated Parmesan

Cook the ravioli according to the package directions.

Meanwhile, heat the oil in a medium skillet over medium heat. Add the walnuts and cook, stirring often, until lightly toasted and fragrant, 4 to 5 minutes.

halloween 001

Apples, Walnuts, and Parsley

Add the apple, parsley, 1⁄2 teaspoon salt, and 1⁄4 teaspoon pepper and toss to combine. Spoon over the ravioli and sprinkle with the Parmesan.

halloween 002

Ravioli with Apples and Walnuts

 

This dish was incredibly simple to make, but very complex in flavor. There wasn’t much of a “sauce” for the pasta, so I would recommend adding a little bit of olive oil and a splash or two of vegetable broth so that the ravioli’s don’t stick together.

The combination of the apples and crisp walnuts reminded me of the Fall and the holidays coming up. The combination of the deep reds from the apple, green from the parsley, and brown from the walnut is perfect for Christmas time. This would make an excellent 2nd course meal before your main course, as it tastes great and looks even better plated. I will definitely be bringing this along to dinner parties and potlucks over the next few months! Yum!

