Last week a co-worker of mine was celebrating a birthday. She had sampled some of my various other baked goods that I now pawn off on my new co-workers, and asked me to bake her something for her special day. When I asked her what she was in the mood for, she said she would love an apple pie.

I couldn’t have been more thrilled, as I have been trying to find an excuse to give pie-baking a try. I was a little intimidated, but it’s actually incredibly easy and very fulfilling.

I used a recipe that I found on a friend’s blog that she used from the Food Network. It’s an Emeril Lagasse recipe and although it’s listed as intermediate, it’s pretty easy to tackle for anyone who has experience in baking.

The recipe is pretty lengthy, so I’ll just link it here.

one recipe 111

Emeril's Double Crust Apple Pie

I was totally impressed with myself when I tasted it. It was a great crust, and the filling was awesome. I will totally make again around Thanksgiving, and will even experiment with other pies now that I know I have people who will eat them. It’s a great gift idea for others, and also really excellent to enjoy all on your own. Eat it room temp, outta the fridge, or heated up with a little vanilla ice cream- a la mode! Enjoy!

