So if any of you reading this are from anywhere near the Northeast, you probably had to deal with the 4 or 5 days of nonstop rain and freezing temperatures that we here in Philadelphia had to endure this past weekend.

With temps in the 40s and rain and wind splattering all over my tightly closed windows, there was nothing I wanted more than to eat soup and drink tea. That desire carried over into this week, even though the skies have cleared and the temperatures have risen.

Tonight I made myself some Chicken Noodle Soup. It’s so easy to make, tasty, and perfect for weather like this- even if it isn’t rainy or snowy, it’s still chilly out! It’s also a great way to battle the sniffles of a cold, even before they begin.

I use a recipe from my original cookbook, Eating Well Through Cancer, which is what I used to cook for my family while my mom was sick and going through chemo. It basically taught me everything I know about cooking today. Which is sort of weird, but I’m grateful for it. Although alot of the recipes are built around side effects of chemo, there are some really great healthy recipes- packed with tons of vitamins, and essential for every day healthy eating. This soup is a pretty standard recipe, but a great one.

Chicken Noodle Soup (soda on the side, optional.)

4 quarts water
3 lbs. chicken breast, chopped into bite sized pieces
1 large onion, sliced
1 cup celery, chopped
1 16oz. package of baby carrots (or 1 cup chopped carrots)
1 turnip, chopped
2 cloves garlic, halved
4 chicken boullion cubes
3 bay leaves
6 sprigs of parsley
salt and pepper to taste
cooked rice or pasta, optional

Add all ingredients except rice or pasta into a large soup pot. Bring to boil, then cover and simmer for 45 minutes. Add the rice or pasta toward the end and cook until heated through.

one recipe 110

Chicken Noodle Soup

Yup, that’s it. It’s super easy and way tasty. I used elbow macaroni for my pasta, but you can use whatever suits you. A great variation would be some long grain brown rice, but I was totally in the mood for macaroni noodles. I did not have a turnip (curse you, Acme!), but you can’t really tell the difference. It was yummy and hearty and just what I needed. I now have a ton of left overs (the recipe makes 8-10 servings), so I put them into separate containers which will act as lunch and dinner for the remainder of the week. I also froze some so I can enjoy the soup later in the season without having to simmer for 45 minutes again. Perfect!

Do you have any excellent soup recipes to share? I plan on doing my fair share of hot one-pot meals this Fall and Winter, and I need suggestions. Post them in the comment section, and you just might see your favorite recipe featured in the future!

