Although it didn’t really start feeling quite like Fall until about today, Autumn is in full effect now. There are very little summer vegetables left in abundance and it’s time to start digging out the sweaters and leggings. Just recently I posted how excited I am to start Fall cooking and baking, and this weekend I did just that.

This weekend was spent in search of all things pumpkin and I took a trip down to Reading Terminal Market to do some birthday shopping for Stu’s mom. I ended up buying her some Pumpkin Spice coffee beans from Old City Coffee and some Pumpkin Butter spread from one of the Amish markets.  I thought that the perfect addition to the pumpkin equation would of course have to be some pumpkin bread!

I found a great recipe from All Recipes and made two loaves- one for Stu’s mom and one for myself! It smelled delicious in the oven and tasted even better. Very moist and delicious and I will definitely be making again soon!

Pumpkin Bread

2 cups canned pumpkin puree
1 cup vegetable oil
2 and 2/3 cups white sugar
4 eggs
3 cups and 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1 teaspoon ground cloves

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease and flour three 9×5 inch loaf pans.

In a large bowl, mix together the pumpkin, oil, sugar, and eggs. Combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves; stir into the pumpkin mixture until well blended. Divide the batter evenly between the prepared pans.

Bake in preheated oven for 45 minutes to 1 hour. The top of the loaf should spring back when lightly pressed.

The recipe that I found (here) actually makes three loaves as opposed to two. With All Recipes you can actually change the serving size and since I only needed two loaves this time, I scaled it down to the measurements listed above. If I were thinking more clearly, I would have made the three loaves and frozen one for later this month or for around Thanksgiving. I will more than likely be making this bread for Christmas gifts or at least as hostess gifts for upcoming holiday parties, so in the future I will definitely make all three loaves. It’s a great bread and totally worth making it in bigger batches!

Also, for other lovers of all things pumpkin, try out this quick little fix to make your own pumpkin spice coffee. When brewing your coffee, add some Pumpkin Pie Spice or your own mix of ground cloves, ground nutmeg, cinnamon, and ginger over the dry coffee grounds before turning on your coffee pot. It adds a little kick of Fall flavor during the autumn months!

