I think I’ve decided that Sunday is my favorite morning of the week. It is a nice time to reflect on the previous week and the weekend, and to prepare oneself for the week that is to come. It’s the perfect lapse of time between a crazy weekend and a crazy week. There is something soothing about sleeping in, waking up to Sunday Morning on CBS, and making a pot o’ joe. The only thing to make this day even more special is with pancakes!

This past Sunday I did just that. I looked up some a recipe from Alton Brown, because he did me so right with the French Toast last time. This recipe, featured on FoodNetwork.com, was called “Instant Pancakes,” because it gives instructions to make a powdered mixture for 3 separate sessions of pancakes. Make it now, store it, and use it again within 3 months! Looks like I will be having some more pancakes as it gets a bit chillier outside. Hooray!

Alton Brown’s Instant Pancake Mix Recipe

To make the “Instant” Pancake Mix do the following,

Combine the following ingredients in a lidded container:

6 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
3 teaspoons baking powder
1 tablespoon kosher salt
2 tablespoons sugar

Shake all of the ingredients and store for up to 3 months.

To make the pancakes on a Sunday morning, like I did, follow this recipe:

2 eggs, separated
2 cups buttermilk
4 tablespoons melted butter
2 cups “Instant” pancake mix, from the recipe above
1 stick butter, for greasing the pan
2 cups fresh fruit, such as blueberries, if desired

Heat an electric griddle of frying pan to 350F. Heat oven to 200F.

Whisk together the egg whites and the buttermilk in a small bowl. In another bowl, whisk the egg yolks with the melted butter.

Combine the buttermilk mixture with the egg yolk mixture in a large mixing bowl and whisk together until thoroughly combined. Pour the liquid ingredients on top of the pancake mix. Using a whisk, mix the batter just enough to bring it together. Don’t try to work all the lumps out.

Check to see that the griddle is hot by placing a few drops of water onto to the griddle. The griddle is ready if the water dances across the surface.

Lightly butter the griddle. Wipe off thoroughly with a paper towel. (No butter should be visible.)

Gently ladle the pancake batter onto the griddle and sprinkle on fruit if desired. When bubbles begin to set around the edges of the pancake and the griddle-side of the cake is golden, gently flip the pancakes. Continue to cook 2 to 3 minutes or until the pancake is set.

Serve immediately or remove to a towel-lined baking sheet and cover with a towel. Hold in a warm place for 20 to 30 minutes.

I did a few things differently here, and they came out okay. But I am happy that I have the “Instant” mix because I will probably do it a bit differently next time.

First, I used half all-purpose unbleached flour and half whole wheat. This made the pancakes a bit heavier than desired. Second, I used cooking spray on the pan (which eventually got a little too hot), instead of butter. And I also didn’t pay close enough attention to the part that says “Don’t try to work all the lumps out.” My flapjacks were more like flatjacks.

Mmm, Pancakes!

Mmm, Pancakes!

Taste wise, I made 2 plain, 2 blueberry, and 2 chocolate chip. The batter itself could have been a little sweeter. I would add maybe one more tablespoon of sugar, or another natural sweetener, such as honey or cinnamon for more flavor. Also, a note: If you do not have buttermilk, do not be silly and go out and buy it! You can make it by simply adding one tablespoon of lemon juice to one cup of milk, stirring it up, and letting it sit for about 5 minutes. Voila!

A Lovely Breakfast Spread

A Lovely Breakfast Spread

I don’t care how these pancakes turned out,  they certainly made my Sunday morning even more enjoyable than usual!

