One thing I didn’t get to do enough of this summer was produce picking. Although I did do my part to support my local farmers, I just didn’t get out of the city enough to be able to sample my own share of the vegetation.

I really love the idea of picking your own, because it really demonstrates where our food comes from, right from a tree, bush, or out of the ground! Last year I did some blueberry picking in August and some apple picking in October. This Labor Day weekend, I wanted to get the last of the summer produce in and get my hands on (literally) some peaches and pears.

Stu and I were in Bucks County for the holiday anyway, so we went to Styer’s Orchards, which is not far from his house. Labor Day weekend was the last weekend for most of their summer producing including a few varieties of apples, all of the peaches, nectarines, barlett pears, and blackberries. There were still some sweet corn, zucchini, squash, eggplant, and peppers available. We wanted to keep it simple- as the weather was a little gloomy, so we stuck with pears and peaches.

one recipe 103

one recipe 106

one recipe 107

It was alot of fun, despite the overwhelming amount of bees. Needless to say, my fruit bowl runneth over. I am very much anticipating putting these fruits to good use in my lunch and in some recipes. Poached pears, peach cobbler, peach iced tea, perhaps?

Do you have any recipes that use pears and/or peaches? Please share in the comments section below. I’ll use your recipe and post about it on the blog!

Fall is just about here and there are still plenty of picking opportunities with apples, squash, and pumpkins! Go to PickYourOwn.org for the farm or orchard nearest to you that supports produce picking!

