So I apologize for the extremely lengthy hiatus that I took during the month of August. I went away to North Carolina, had the family visit from Connecticut, took a short trip down to Gettysburg, and then had another visitor from Connecticut here for a few days; back to back to back to back. I didn’t have much time to post, in fact, I didn’t even have much time to cook. But I will do my best to catch you up to speed.

First off, I realize that I was incredibly enthusiastic about the 101 Summer Salads from Mark Bittman’s Minimalist column. Here it is now approaching September and I only made two summer salads! I haven’t even had the chance to look up more than these two, but I’ll post below.

I started with a delicious watermelon, strawberry and basil salad. I had large quantities of watermelon and basil, both provided by Stuart’s mother, so I put them to use immediately. I sliced them up, along with some strawberries. Drizzled a little balsamic vinegar and topped it with feta cheese! Excellent.

And literally the next day, I did the same salad with a slight variation. I was trying to use up all of my fresh produce before my two week vacation. I used the same said watermelon and basil, and chopped up some tomatoes, added the basil, and voila. Kind of similar, though the tomatoes added more of a savory flavor as opposed to the sweetness of the strawberries. Highly recommend both.

Watermelon, Strawberry, Basil, & Feta Salad

Watermelon, Strawberry, Basil, & Feta Salad

Have you made any of the 101 salads yet? How have they turned out? Email me your recipes and/or photos at TLCapaldo@gmail.com and I will post them here! Quick! Summer is almost over. : (

