Last week, Stu informed me that Ippolito’s the fish market across from my apartment, was having a great deal on shrimp. I didn’t get all of the details and when I went to buy the shrimp myself, the special was over. Luckily for me, we ended up with a whole pound of shrimpies in our fridge, leftover from a party that we threw on Tuesday night for some French visitors. One of our guests was making grilled chicken and a jumbalaya for everyone, but another one of our guests is highly allergic to shrimp, so he left them out. I graciously accepted the leftovers, and I knew just what to do with them.

I yanked out my 5 A Day cookbook and turned to the Fish and Shellfish section, which I don’t use very often. However, these little babies needed to be used quickly before they went to waste in my fridge. I invited Stu over for dinner and we devoured the meal below:

Pasta with Shrimp, Tomatoes, and Feta

2 teaspoons olive oil
4 scallions, chopped (about 2/3 cup)
1 medium green bell pepper, finely chopped
1/2 cup fresh flat-leaf parsley
1 tablespoon finely chopped fresh oregano or 1 teaspoon dried
1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
salt and freshly ground black pepper (optional)
12 oz. medium shrimp, peeled and deveined
4 firm-ripe medium tomatoes, peeled, seeded, and chopped
1/2 cup dry white wine
1 tablespoon tomato paste
16 oz. penne pasta
2 ounces feta cheese, crumbled

In a large skillet, heat the oil over medium heat. Add the scallions and cook, stirring, for about 3 minutes or until wilted. Add the bell pepper, parsley, oregano, and crushed red pepper. Season with salt and peper, if desired. Cook, stirring, for about 6 minutes, or until the bell pepper is soft.

Reduce heat to medium-low. Add the shrimp and cook for about 4 minutes, or until opaque throughout. Add the tomatoes and cook until they release their juice. Stir in white wine and tomato paste and cook for about 15 minutes.

Meanwhile, in a large pot, cook the pasta according to the package directions. Drain. in a serving bowl, toss the pasta with the shrimp mixture. Sprinkle the feta cheese over the top and serve.

The whole meal was a bit of a process. If you’ve never peeled and deveined shrimp before, it is pretty gross. It’s really hard not to imagine them as little animals. They have legs, it’s disgusting. And deveining is a whole different story. Wash your hands immediately after.

There wasn’t much that I changed to this recipe except I used 1/2 cup of chicken broth instead of the dry white wine.  I also used whole wheat penne for a healthier alternative, as I sometimes do.  The meal was very flavorful and delicious. Not too heavy and definitely filling. I highly recommend if you are having company, trying to impress a date (or a friend), or just if you are in the mood to try something different on a regular old weeknight. Bon Appetit!

