Last week, aside from my vegan eggplant meal, I didn’t post any of my recent recipes. There are a few reasons for this. First of all, I didn’t have too many interesting meal options.

Second, I recycled my Kale Puttanesca recipe from a few weeks back. I had some tomatoes on hand and green olives. It was a bit different than when I tried it the first time, but still pretty good.

And finally, last Wednesday I made a pretty terrible meal. I’ll post it for you, because maybe you will have better luck.

I live across the street from a fish market called, Ippolito’s which has very good and mostly affordable fish. I’ve tried to make a stop in there at least once a week but it’s been quite a while since I have been there. I found a recipe in my 5 a Day cookbook for sole that seemed easy and I had alot of the ingredients on hand. So I took a walk across the street and grabbed some fish to try it out.

Except they didn’t have sole. They had fluke, which is similar. I actually have never had sole before, so I can’t tell you if this is fact. Here is the recipe below. I didn’t take pictures because it came out so sad-looking. I’ll list my substitutions and possible errors after the recipe.

Sole with Fresh Tomatoes and Olives

4 oz. fat free milk
1/2 cup of Panko bread crumbs (Japanese style bread crumbs)
4 sole fillets
salt and freshly ground black pepper (optional)
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 cup dry white wine
4 firm-ripe medium tomatoes; peeled, seeded, and chopped
8 pitted green olives, sliced
Finely grated zest and juice of one orange
2 tablespoons fresh tarragon or 2 teaspoons dried
1 tablespoon chopped fresh parsely
1/4 tablespoon crushed red pepper flakes
1 tablespoon finely chopped fresh flat-leaf Italian parsley, for garnish

Preheat oven to 200F.

Put the milk and Panko into separate pie plates. Dip the sole fillets, one at a time into the milk, then coat with the bread crumbs. Sprinkle with salt and pepper, if desired and set aside.

In a large skillet, heat the oil over medium-high heat. Cook the fillets, in batches if needed, for about 5 minutes on each side, or until the fish flakes easily. Transfer the fish to an ovenproof platter and place in the oven to keep warm.

Add the wine to the skillet and cook, scraping up any browned bits from the bottom of the pan. Add the tomatoes, olives, orange zest and juice, tarragon, fresh parsley, and crushed red pepper; cook over medium-high heat, stirring, for about 15 minutes or until the sauce thickents.

To serve, spoon the sauce over the fish and sprinkle with the flat leaf parsley.

Well there is a list of things that could have gone wrong. First and foremost being that I used fluke instead of sole. The panko didn’t really stick to the fish as much as I thought it should have. Second, the fish did not really need to cook too long and “flaky” ended up being “falling apart. So that was difficult.

Also, I did not have “dry white wine” but instead used “white cooking wine,” which isn’t that big of a deal if you are using small amounts but 1 cup of it is a pretty big difference. White cooking wine is very salty and bitter and had a very sharp taste to it. I seeded the tomatoes but did not peel them, and they had been sitting out on the counter for a few days so were pretty much and not at all “firm-ripe.” I also did not have an orange on hand, because I must have overlooked it while I was writing out my shopping list. So I threw in a little orange juice to make up for the taste. I also did not have tarragon. I used a little fennel seed instead, and kind of overdid it on the red pepper flakes. About the only thing that I did have right was the parsley.

The dish wasn’t as disastrous as I make it out to be. It was pretty edible but it’s nothing that I would be proud to serve to anyone other than myself. A lot of really strong flavors that didn’t exactly work well together. I’m definitely interested in trying this out again if I have everything just right. Until then, maybe you should give it a try and let me know how it works out for you. I am interested to see if this was all on my part, or if maybe the recipe just isn’t meant to be.

