I have a slight infatuation with root vegetables. Specifically beets and radishes. I don’t know if I actually am infatuated with the taste, or just with the concept. They are pink and from the ground. And they both have such distinct tastes. It is even better when the two veggies are combined into one recipe.

Below is my lunch salad for the week, from a 5 a Day Fruit/Vegetable cookbook that I got for $3.00 at Ocean State Job Lot. The book incorporates fruits and vegetables into every dish listed in the book, and it’s not all vegetarian either. There are quite a bit of meat, poultry, and fish options as well. Some of my favorite snacks and meals come from this book. What a bargain!

5 a Day Better Health Cookbook

5 a Day Better Health Cookbook

Apple Beet Salad

4 granny smith apples; peeled, cored, and chopped
1 150z can of julienned beets
6 radishes, sliced
2 chives, sliced length wise
1/4 cup vinegar
1/4 cup olive oil
1 teaspoon sugar
1/4 teaspoon ground allspice
dash of hot red pepper sauce
salt and ground black pepper

In a large bowl, combine the apples, beets, radishes, and scallions.

In a small bowl, whisk together the vinegar, olive oil, sugar, allspice, and hot sauce, if desired. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Drizzle over apple mixture and toss until evenly coated.  Cover and refrigerate at least 1 hour before serving.

I opted to use some beets that I grabbed from the Fountain Farmer’s Market last week instead of canned. If you can get them fresh, why get them canned? I chopped off their stems and tails and peeled them, boiled them in water for about 10 minutes until soft. I did my best to julienne them, cutting them into matchstick size sticks.

I also didn’t have any allspice on hand, so I just added a couple more dashes of hot sauce and used some ground steakhouse seasoning that we had on hand. Figured it would be about them same. I think it was.

This is a very delicious and nutritious side dish or snack. I had it as a main meal for Sunday dinner and had it again for lunch today. It’s also very beautiful and pink, my favorite part.

Apple Beet Salad

Apple Beet Salad

See? A beautiful shade of fuschia! How can one resist? (My hands were stained this color after cooking/chopping/eating. Excellent!)

