Recently, Stu and I have vowed to stay in and cook meals more often on the weekends. We enjoy doing this anyway, but it never hurts to go easy considering the way the economy is. So instead of opting for a night out on the town on Friday, we had Mexican Night right in my apartment.

If you haven’t picked up on it yet, I am really into experimenting with the Real Simple Magazine’s recipes. I’ve been using the recipes from the July Issue all month long and am anxiously awaiting what next month will have to offer. (Just got a subscription!)

Stu has had his eyes on this Mushroom and Poblano Tostada for weeks now, so I figured I should give it a whirl. Click the picture below and it will take you to the site with the recipe.

Mushroom and Poblano Tostada

Mushroom and Poblano Tostada

Ours didn’t come out looking exactly like the photo, but it was really good. We also added chicken to the combo and sauteed it with all of the other veggies in the pan. My favorite part was broiling the cheese onto the tortilla. It made it crispy and cheesy all at once.

We used home-made salsa instead of the store bought. I’ll never go back!

To make home-made salsa I use any or all of the following ingredients:

tomatoes
red onion
cilantro
jalepeno pepper
salt/pepper to taste
olive oil
lime juice

Put all of the ingredients in the food processor and puree away!

Feel free to add or remove ingredients depending on your palate, but do not sacrifice the tomatoes or the red onion! So good!
This meal took about 20 minutes to make and was very filling and satisfying. Feel free to adjust it to your liking- making it more or less veg-friendly, or adding or removing the veggies of your choosing. Might also be really tasty with a little guacamole or sour cream. Get creative!

