Fourth of July is honestly one of my favorite holidays. When I was growing up it was the biggest family event of the year. Every relative from across the state would convene at my grandparents house and each family member would contribute something. Lots of hot dogs and hamburgers, corn on the cob, potato salads, jello molds, and the beloved flag cake. Also lots of swimming, bocce ball, cigar smoking, and ice cold brewskies in the cooler. And what is not to love about fireworks?

Nowadays, the big family bash has kind of fizzled out, but I love the excuse to get a bunch of my favorite people together, sit outside until it gets dark out, grill, drink, eat, and laugh to my heart’s content. Happy Birthday America!

This year I took advantage of my roof deck and had a few friends over. We did the regular grilling of hamburgers and hot dogs. I made a fruit salad and the Flag Cupcakes as well as a Carrot Slaw from, yes again, Real Simple.

Carrot Slaw

Carrot Slaw

I didn’t use the shrimp but I love cole slaw in general and was interested to try this zesty version. With the cayenne pepper and cilantro, it was definitely cole slaw with a kick!

My dear friend and trusty college roommate, Natalie, brought a Watermelon Feta Salad that she found in Women’s Health Magazine. I love anything with cheese, especially Feta, and Watermelon is a perfect summer fruit. Radishes are always a plus, too!

Feta and Watermelon Salad

Feta and Watermelon Salad

Natalie also contributed to dessert with a Cherry Clafouti from All Recipes. Check out an explanation and instructions from Philadelphia City Paper’s blog Meal Ticket. Though we were all a little giddy and in the middle of a very heated game of Spoons/Bottle Caps, everyone was able to take a few minutes to inhale and digest this lovely custardy and tart treat! Thanks for all of your hard work and contributions, Nat! Hats off to you!

Cherry Clafoutis

Cherry Clafoutis

All in all, it was a wonderful evening. The grill was hot, the beer was cold, the food was great, and the fireworks were popping up all over South Philly. Only 363 days until next 4th of July! Woohoo!

