The weather this weekend was beautiful, and after all of that rain, I needed to get outside. Instead of spending money on going out to eat, I thought that a picnic on Kelley Drive would be best.

I looked up a Recipe in Real Simple magazine and checked my fridge for all the ingredients. It just so happened that I had everything on hand, so I whipped up a chicken salad.

Chicken Salad with Green Beans, Potatoes, and Peppers

Chicken Salad with Green Beans, Potatoes, and Peppers

Mine did not look as appealing as I stored it all in tupperware containers, but it was a perfect on-the-go, healthy and filling treat. I also added a side of Fruity Cous Cous Salad and packed some zuchini bread and lemon blueberry bread that my roommate whipped up for the weekend.

Fruity Cous Cous Salad

2 cups of canned fat-free chicken/vegetable broth (I use water.)
2 cups cous cous
1/2 cup dried tart cherries or dried cranberries
2/3 cup coarsley chopped carrots
1 cup chopped unpeeled cucumber
1 bunch green onions, (scallions), sliced
1/4 cup pine nuts or toasted slivered almonds, optional
3 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 tablespoon Dijon Mustard
salt and pepper to taste

Bring broth to a boil in a medium saucepan; stir in cous cous. Remove from heat; let stand, covered, 5 minutes. Fluff with a fork. Uncover, cool about 10 minutes. Combine cooked cous cous, dried fruit, carrots, cucumber, green onions, and pine nuts in a large bowl; mix well. Combine vinegar, olive oil, and mustard in a small bowl; mix well. Pour dressing mixture over cous cous mixture; stir to coat all ingredients. Season with salt and pepper, if desired. Serve chilled or at room temperature.

Fruity Cous Cous

Fruity Cous Cous

Use these recipes, or any of your favorite chicken, tuna, veggie, or fruit salads to take on your own pack-and-go picnic!

