So today is Wednesday which means I list my Farmer’s Market Finds. I was really reluctant to go to the market today because I am running low on funds, but I decided that I needed some green beans because I have two recipes for which they need to be used. When I got there, I was so overwhelmed by how much produce both stands had, that I kind of had a free-for-all. I dropped alsmot $20.00 on:

-Green beans
-A bundle of wonderful, vibrant Swiss Chard
-Black raspberries (so good!)
-Blueberries- sad to see strawberry season over, but so glad for blueberries!
-Two bundles of asparagus, because it was the last of the season.

I had a completely different meal plan picked out for tonight, involving some chicken that was resting in my freezer. As soon as I purchased the chard though, I immediately switched over to a recipe that I read about in one of my favorite books, “Animal, Vegetable, Miracle” by Barbara Kingsolver.

It took me almost a year to read this book, but I enjoyed every page of it. It follows the author and her family as they decide to eat food only produced within 30 miles of their home, in rural Virgina. The family builds their own garden, raises goats and chickens, and buys anything that they don’t grow on their own in their local farmer’s market. Throughout the book the author posts some of their seasonal meal plans. “Eggs in a Nest” is a part of the Springtime Plan and I have been wanting to try it for a while now.

Eggs In a Nest

2 cups brown rice
1 medium yellow onion, chopped
2 cloves of garlic, minced
2 carrots, chopped
1 tomato, diced
1 really large bunch of swiss chard
8 eggs

Bring 4 cups of water to a boil. Add rice, cover, and simmer for 20-30 minutes or until all water is absorbed.

Meantime, saute the onions and garlic in a non-stick skillet over medium-high heat until golden brown. Add the carrots and tomatoes and cook until tender.

Stir in the chard and cover for a few minutes until wilted. Uncover, stir well. Then use the back of a spoon to make depressions in the cooked leaves, circling the pan like numbers on a clock. Break an egg into each depression, being careful to keep yolks whole. Cover pan again and allow eggs to poach for 3 to 5 minutes. Remove from heat and serve over rice.

one recipe 020

I cut the recipe down a bit, using 1 cup of brown rice, 1/2 an onion, 1 carrot, 1/2 a tomato, a smaller bunch of chard, and 3 eggs.

I added a little shredded pamesan cheese on top of the whole dish after it was plated. It was one of the best meals I’ve had in a long time. I had no idea what to expect as I’ve never had chard before and I wasn’t sure how poached eggs would fit in with the rest of the food.

This was totally rich and delicious dinner, and very filling. I wasn’t able to finish the whole thing and I am really excited about leftovers.

Final Result

Final Result

Check out more of Barbara Kingsolver’s Animal Vegetable Miracle on her website and look for more of her seasonal recipes as we dive further into summer.

