This past weekend I think I ate more food than should ever be allowed for a girl of my size and stature. Friday afternoon through Sunday evening was a non-stop smorgasbord of any and every type of food you can possibly imagine. I am not quite complaining, though I am definitely feeling the after effects.

Friday started with a happy hour at the South Philly Tap Room, which turned into an early dinner. I went for the Mushroom Enchiladas. Very filling and rich. Satisfying because I was starving.

The evening carried on far past happy hour with beers that only the Taproom and another local favorite, the Pub on Passyunk East (POPE) can supply. Later the evening, it was decided that we should eat wings. I won’t mention another late night tourist attraction in my neighborhood that we visited and stood in line for at 2 a.m.

Saturday morning my main goal was to cure the nasty hangover that ensued. After a brief detour at Verizon Wireless in Center City, and the decision not to put up with the chaos that was ensuing at Reading Terminal, I made the trek across Broad Street to La Creperie Cafe. I remember visiting it once a few years ago and having the best Crepe I can ever recall. Sweet and savory and delicious, this time around I opted for a Tomato, Basil, Mozerella and Garlic crepe and Stu got something that I won’t even try to explain, something like a Pizza Crepe. Along with home made Ginger Iced Tea and a strawberries and creme dessert crepe, it was a glorious brunch.

Dessert Crepe!

Dessert Crepe!

Saturday evening we opted to stay in, as we had dropped enough cash on decadent eats already. After hours of planning and consulting multiple cook books, we settled on a Veggie Burger recipe from Real Simple magazine, with an accompanying side dish of a cucumber salad.

Veggie Burgers
1/4 cup cous cous
1 large egg
1/4 cup sunflower seeds
1 15-0z. can of lentils (or 1/2 cup dry lentils- then cook)
1 medium carrot, coarsely grated
1/2 red onion, finely chopped
1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
salt and pepper, to taste

In a small bowl, combine the cous cous and 1/4 cup of hot tap water. Let sit for 5 minutes, then fluff with a fork.

In a food processor, puree the egg, sunflower seeds, and 3/4 cup of the lentils until they form a paste; transfer to a bowl. Mix in the carrot, onion, lemon juice, couscous, the remaining lentils, 1/2 teaspoon salt,and 1/4 teaspoon pepper. Form the mixture into four 1/2-inch-thick patties. Refrigerate, uncovered, until firm, 20 to 25 minutes.

Heat grill to medium-high. Oil the grill grate. Grill the patties, turning once (do not press or flatten), until charred and heated through, 4 to 5 minutes per side. Serve on rolls with the desired toppings.

Veggie Burger and Cuke Salad

Veggie Burger and Cuke Salad

We cooked the burgers on the stove. Two fell apart, two survived. Topped each burger with roasted red peppers and goat cheese. Delicious!

For a side dish I served a Cucumber Salad. I chopped two cucumbers and two stalks of celery, mixed it with 1/4 cup of Greek Yogurt and fresh parsley. Probably would have been better with fresh dill, but it was still very refreshing.

For dessert, I had some plantains that I had gotten outside of my work at a free-produce stand. I’d never had plantains before, but I asked the produce-man how to cook them. He told me to cut them in half, lengthwise, flour them as you would fish or chicken, and fry them in a pan with a little bit of vegetable oil. So, I did.

Plantains!

Plantains!

Topped with a little bit of chocolate chip ice cream and they were to die for! Don’t know if I would make again, but definitely an interesting and satisfying experiment.

Sunday was spent with Stu’s family, eating grilled pizza, rotisserie chicken from the grill, shrimp with remoulade sauce and steamed sugar snap peas. The evening was topped off with some home made Strawberry Shortcake that I will feature in the next post. Stay tuned!

For now, I am still very, very full.

