I have alot of updating to do. I’ve been up to my eyeballs in recipes and I’ve been eating way too much. I love the idea of this blog, but I don’t love that it is encouraging me to explore food way more often that I normally would.

I am a little bit behind, but I wanted to share a few things from my meal plan last week. I started off by utililizing some of the left overs from our Porch Party (see: two posts down.)

Monday
I had a delicious Portobello burger. Portobello’s are easily one of my favorite foods. Rich and delicious, they are an excellent substitute for meat and they are almost as hearty. I marinated my mushroom in 2 tablespoons of Balsamic Vinegar and 1 tablespoon of Extra Virgin Olive Oil, along with some herbs such as Oregano, Basil, Parsley, and salt and pepper to taste. I usually let it sit in the marinade for about 15 minutes, then put it on a small pan over medium-high heat and cook for about 4-5 minutes on each side. You can also grill or cook in the oven. Put it on a bun of your choice, serve it up with cheese, tomato, and lettuce and done!

Tuesday
I went the burger route again on Tuesday, except this time utilizing the leftover beef burgers from the Porch Party. I cooked up a side of Fruity Cous Cous Salad to accompany it. Very quick and simple.

Wednesday
I hit up the Fountain Farmer’s Market on Wednesday afternoon and gathered the following items:
Sugar Snap Peas
2 Zucchini
2 bunches of beets (!)
a basket of cherries
a basket of tiny new red potatoes
a bunch of fresh basil
I think that’s it.

I used a recipe from The Philadelphia Inquirer entitled Rush Hour Gourmet
that uses alot of peas, parsely, basil and fresh sugar snap peas. It’s kind of like a pea-pesto sauce. Last weekend I bought a new food processor and I can’t stop using it. I wasn’t aware of how handy they actually are until I had one at my disposal all week. I’ve used it every day.

My new food processor in action

My new food processor in action

I used linguine instead of farfalle pasta because it was all I had on hand, but my final result came out looking pretty similar to the picture in the article. The taste was not as great as I anticipated, but it was a healthy meal, for sure.

Pea-pesto Pasta with Sugar Snap Peas

Pea-pesto Pasta with Sugar Snap Peas

Thursday
Another green meal. By Thursday I was feeling the wear and tear of the week and was in no mood for a big, hearty, time-consuming dinner. I whipped up some Asparagus Soup from another article in The Philadelphia Inquirer, posted at the height of Asparagus season, which is now coming to a close. I used some asparagus and my new potatoes from the Farmer’s Market. The soup was really easy to make, especially now that I have a brand new food processor to puree and chop just about everything!

one recipe 011

Asparagus Soup

This week sure was full of green and healthy food. I still have a ton of leftovers (especially the pea pasta, which I am not too thrilled about) and alot of untouched produce leftover from the Farmer’s Market. I’m still putting together a meal plan for this week. A light one, preferably, as I ate more over this past weekend than I have eaten in the last month, combined. More to come on that over the next few days.

