So this recent hiatus had nothing at all to do with food. I was back up in Connecticut for our Relay for Life event and basically spent the whole weekend preparing for the event or participating in it.

Being absent from the city again, I missed the Headhouse Farmer’s Market, sadly for the second weekend in a row. I planned my meals based on food that I already had and whipped up a killer eggplant Parmesan complete with ricotta cheese and fresh mootz.

By Wednesday, however, I was able to make it to the Fountain Farmer’s Market and scored some leafy greens-complete with a caterpillar, asparagus, beets, and a huge barrel of strawberries. I immediately went home and cooked up a Strawberry Rhubarb cobbler, using fresh stawberries, some leftover rhubarb that had not yet gone bad (after almost 4 weeks!) and some local honey. I added a crumbly topping of oatmeal, brown sugar, cinnamon, and butter. It was delish.

Strawberry Rhubarb Crunch

Strawberry Rhubarb Crunch

Tonight I utilized my beets! It was the first time I ever actually cooked beets instead of opening a can, and boy are they gorgeous! Hot pink water everywhere! Not only are they nice to look at and fun to prepare, but they are delicious and nutritious as well. They have almost 35% of your daily value of folate and are also high in potassium and vitamin C. Also, very rich in anti-oxidants!

bangin' on a trash can...

ooh-wee-ooh, Killer Tofu!

Bonus points for anyone who can guess the caption reference.

I didn’t take any pictures of my own meal, but I ended up boiling the beets and candy-ing some walnuts, throwing them in with my greens from the Farmer’s Market and adding some leftover Gorgonzola from an earlier salad. It was delicious and filling and I will definitely make again. I think I’ll make beets a regular purchase until they are out of season or until I run out of things to do with them. I am interested in finding out different ways to utilize their greens.

This weekend we will be entertaining guests with a Porch party featuring some grilling, some sangria, and possibly some other delicious drinks. I’ll be happy to share those recipes as they come about.

