As I mentioned in my previous post, I wouldn’t have much time this weekend to hit up the Headhouse Farmer’s Market on Saturday or Sunday. This ended up to be true, and thanks to the Art Star Craft Bazaar, I now have no cash left for the Fountain Farmer’s Market on Wednesday.

This week I’ll be getting by on grocery-bought items, which is fine. If I find a particularly thrilling recipe, I will share.

In the meantime, I’ll give a quick shout out to all of the wonderful places that I visited this weekend.

Friday night started out with a trip to Old City to “Q,” a barbecue and Tequilla bar. Stu and I both grabbed tacos. Stu got an extra nutritious treat from a guest in his taco in the form of a Lady Bug. Comp’d tacos, please! I did try a Spicey Lime Margarita, which was really good, with a great kick of Cayanne Pepper on the way down.

Next stop was Triumph Brewery to sample some Honey Wheat, the Imperious Pillsner, and John Bull IPA. This place is slowly becoming a favorite for a weekend late night drop-in. Good beer, interesting atmosphere, co-ed bathrooms. Still have to try the food.

Last stop of the evening, and it was a must- was the Franklin Fountain. This tiny old-fashioned ice cream parlour is located right near the 2nd and Market subway entrance. The place is adorable, and a little creepy, but has delicious and overpriced ice cream. There was no stopping me, and we settled on The Franklin Mint Sundae for $9.50. From what I remember, it was worth it.

Saturday I grabbed lunch in Lansdale, PA with a friend from college at The Blue Dog Pub.  Not much to say except good food and great beer selection. Always a fan of stopping by this place, especially when Troegs Nugget Nectar is on tap.

Shortly after that was a stop at The Standard Tap in Northern Liberties, another favorite. With Victory Hopdevil on tap, you can never have a bad night. I ordered a Beet Salad with a side of grilled asparagus.  This being the second beet salad that I have enjoyed recently, I’m on the prowl for recipes.

The night continued with a South Philly Dive Bar tour to Dirty Frank’s, Ray’s Happy Birthday Bar, Pat’s Cheese Steaks, and Bonnie’s Capistrano. I’ll let you do the research.

And what better way to wake up after a divey night than to go out to breakfast? Checked out the new Michael’s Cafe on E. Passyunk. I had an awesome dish of Mocha French toast. The service was a little slow, but I’ll give it to them because they just recently opened last month. The food was great, the atmosphere was fantastic. I will be back again for more breakfast, soon!

That about sums up my weekend of food. Although there was no cooking/baking whatsoever, I think I am still full from all of the food and beverages that I consumed. My wallet, however, is empty.

