This week marked the long-awaited opening of two food fixtures in my neighborhood.

I had been anxiously waiting for the opening of Capogiro Gelato since I first heard they were installing one in my neighborhood over the Winter. When I read that the opening could be “as early as Tuesday, May 14th,”  I started casually strolling by the new location daily, only to be disappointed to find  that it was still a work in progress. The gelateria finally opened its doors over the weekend while I was in Connecticut, of course, and upon my return the weather just wasn’t quite warm enough.

This week, as soon as the weather was more gelato-appropirate, I was there. After gazing in awe at the menu selection (Cilantro Lime!?) I settled on a double selection of Chocolate Banana and Amish Milk which I found to be a very satisfying combination. Upon re-reviewing their flavor list today, I noticed they have Rosemary Honey Goatmilk! Wow! Get there.

Second big opening of the week was the Fountain Farmer’s Market. Although I prefer the Headhouse Market on Saturdays and Sundays, I didn’t get to visit it this past weekend, and I refuse to buy asparagus from the grocery store, now that I have realized the quality of the farmer’s produce.  I headed over to the Fountain yesterday, and was disappointed to see that only two vendors were there. However, I did manage to make out with two bunches of asparagus, a huge bucket of fresh strawberries, some lettuce, and some rhubarb. I’ve never cooked with rhubarb before, but my grandmother used to make incredible strawberry rhubarb pie and I feel like being adventurous. I found this rhubarb muffin recipe, which I think I will bring to a Memorial Day picnic on Monday.

Rhubarb Muffins

  • 1/2 cup vanilla yogurt
  • 2 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup diced rhubarb
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 cup crushed sliced almonds
  • 2 teaspoons melted butter
  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease a 12 cup muffin tin, or line with paper liners.
  2. In a medium bowl, stir together the yogurt, 2 tablespoons of melted butter, oil and egg. In a large bowl, stir together the flour, 3/4 cup of brown sugar, baking soda and salt. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry, and mix until just blended. Fold in rhubarb. Spoon into the prepared muffin tin, filling cups at least 2/3 full.
  3. In a small bowl, stir together 1/4 cup of brown sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, almonds, and 2 teaspoons of melted butter. Spoon over the tops of the muffins, and press down lightly.
  4. Bake for 25 minutes in the preheated oven, or until the tops spring back when lightly pressed. Cool in the pan for about 15 minutes before removing.

I’m going to be doing alot of muffin-making tonight, so I will report back on my progress, and maybe dig around for more recipes.

Also, a small side note. Grilled pizza is fantastic. More to come on this issue in upcoming weeks.

